My Favorite Spots in San Antonio

IMG_0364

Hello, friends! I have been living in San Antonio, Texas for a year now and I have absolutely loved my experience. I think that San Antonio is a brilliant city–filled with rich culture and history. From the famous River Walk to the beloved Pearl, there are a diverse range of places that are worth visiting in San Antonio. Here are some of my favorite places and spaces:

The Riverwalk

Ohh the River Walk, one of the most popular spots in San Antonio. It’s definitely a very tourist-oriented area, but there’s something charming about its tackiness. Well, it’s not that tacky. It’s a great  place to just walk around and people watch, but there are a ton of great restaurants to enjoy along the river. I especially love visiting at night, where the string lights from the restaurants illuminate the whole area. The River Walk is one of the reasons that I decided to move to San Antonio and it holds a special place in my heart.

IMG_1755

La Villita

La Villita is located on the River Walk of San Antonio. It’s a tiny little town complete with craft shops and art galleries. It’s also a common spot for festivals and happenings in San Antonio. I love this little area, because it’s fun to walk around and beautiful at night–especially with the beautiful string lights. Can you tell that I like string lights?

IMG_6961

The Pearl

This is a San Antonio staple, especially for my fellow class mates. This is an area of San Antonio located at the end of the River Walk, complete with shops, restaurants, apartments, and hotels. It’s a hip area, where students, tourists, and families alike enjoy visiting. I especially love going to the Pearl for the farmer’s market that happens every weekend. There are a ton of vendors, dogs, and live music–the perfect place to spend a Saturday morning.

IMG_1967

Cowboy’s Dance Hall

One of the reasons that I love Texas so much is because of its affinity for dancing. Let me tell you, Texans know how to have a good time. Cowboy’s is a popular dance hall in San Antonio where people go to hang out, spend time with friends, and dance! They also have a live country music  band and a huge dance floor. I just recently learned how to two step and I love going out on a Friday night and dancing with my friends!

IMG_2042

Gruene Hall

Technically, this dance hall is not is San Antonio (it’s in Gruene), but it’s been a great part of my Texan/San Antonio experience! It’s about 30 minutes outside of San Antonio and a Texas classic. Cowboy’s definitely has more of a club/dance hall atmosphere, but Gruene is a lot more relaxed and family oriented. I really enjoyed dancing here and definitely felt like a true Texan among the cowboy hats and boots. If dancing isn’t your thing, enjoy a beer here and walk around the town of Gruene!

McNay Art Museum

The McNay has a diverse collection of art, from Renaissance sculptures to Cubism to theatre arts! The art museum as it appears today used to be a mansion, so the overall architecture is beautiful. Be sure to check out the courtyard in the middle of the museum! I love the art pieces within the museum, but the surrounding area is really nice too. I highly recommend having a picnic on the grass, then walking around inside!

I hope you enjoyed this post and learning about the many different places in San Antonio . These are just a few of my favorite places–San Antonio definitely has a lot to offer! I feel really lucky to be able to live here and experience the Alamo city lifestyle.

-Love Ling

 

Leave a comment